2016 CEA Award Winners & Applicants

Stronger Together - UBCM Convention 2016The Honourable Mary Polak, Minister of Environment presented awards recognizing the leadership of the cities of North Vancouver, Coquitlam and Kimberley at the Union of BC Municipalities convention. “B.C. communities are key partners in the fight against climate change,” said Minister Polak. “These awards highlight the innovative actions communities are taking to achieve a sustainable future.”

City of North Vancouver won in the Community Planning and Development category for the Moodyville Neighbourhood rezoning. In accepting the award, Mayor Darrell Mussatto noted that, “the City of North Vancouver has a long standing commitment to energy-efficient urban form, district energy and building energy performance. This transformation of the Moodyville neighbourhood will help the City meet its climate action and housing goals.”

City of Coquitlam won in the Corporate Operations category for implementation actions associated with its Corporate Strategic Energy Management Plan. “As a result of our commitment to the implementation of our Corporate Strategic Energy Management Plan, Coquitlam has avoided $4 million in energy costs and the City has successfully reduced the community’s greenhouse gas emissions by 24% during a period of unparalleled population growth,” said Mayor Richard Stewart.

City of Kimberley’s Sun Mine project won in the Public Sector Collaboration category.  Kimberley’s Mayor Don McCormick thanked partners Columbia Basin Trust, BC Hydro, College of the Rockies, School District 6, and the Aq’am Community for their commitment to the project, noting that, “eighteen agreements with eight organizations were developed to realize B.C.’s first municipally owned utility-scale solar facility and to support local training opportunities. This project has received overwhelming support from the community.”

“BC communities are taking action to achieve their corporate and community greenhouse gas emission reduction targets and realize significant economic co-benefits at the same time,” said Darrell Mussatto, Chair of the Community Energy Association and Mayor of the City of North Vancouver. “Innovative action at the local government level is essential to help the Province reach its greenhouse gas emission reduction targets.”

Honourable Mentions were awarded to:

  • District of Sparwood in the Community Planning category for its energy efficiency incentive building permit rebate program
  • Cowichan Valley Regional District for the Island Savings Centre energy upgrades
  • Cities of Coquitlam, Surrey and Vancouver, FortisBC and BC Hydro for the Empower Me program

The awards are organized annually by the Community Energy Association in partnership with the Province of B.C., Union of BC Municipalities, BC Hydro, FortisBC, and the Real Estate Foundation of BC.

The press release of the award winners and a summary of all award applicants can be accessed below.

Download “2016-Climate-Energy-Action-Awards-News-Release-Final.pdf” 2016-Climate-Energy-Action-Awards-News-Release-Final.pdf – Downloaded 196 times – 361 KB

Download “2016-CEA-Award-Applications-Summary.pdf” 2016-CEA-Award-Applications-Summary.pdf – Downloaded 236 times – 287 KB