2014 CEA Award Winners & Applicants

UBCM Convention 2014

Linda Reimer, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development for Communities and Port Moody-Coquitlam MLA, presented awards recognizing the leadership of Richmond, Nanaimo and Telkwa at the Union of BC Municipalities convention. “I am proud of B.C.’s local governments and their efforts to reduce GHG emissions through such a wide variety of innovative projects that are increasing local energy resiliency and reducing costs,” said Reimer. “The communities being recognized here today have demonstrated outstanding leadership and innovation and their actions will inspire others.”

Richmond won in the Community Planning and Development category for the Alexandra District Geothermal Energy Utility, which provides energy to 600 residential units, reducing GHG emissions by around 1,125 tonnes per year.

Nanaimo won in the Corporate Operations category for the energy recovery facility constructed as part of a new water supply system. Avoided energy costs are nearly $100,000 per year and the system is generating enough electricity to power 160 to 190 homes.

Telkwa won the Public Sector Collaboration award for their biomass district energy partnership with School District 54, an outstanding example of how public sector joint renewable energy projects can provide energy security and climate action benefits for both partners. The partnership with the school district was essential to system funding, design and development and the school is an important customer of the system while also providing back-up heat in extreme cold.

“The awards highlight the incredible momentum amongst BC communities toward achieving energy sustainability,” said Darrell Mussatto, Co-chair of the Community Energy Association and Mayor of the City of North Vancouver. “BC communities are identifying effective solutions to achieve their greenhouse gas emission reduction targets and, at the same time, realizing significant co-benefits from these projects.”

Honourable Mentions were awarded to:
• Campbell River for Power Down Campbell River & Metro Vancouver for Charging up the Region
• Saanich for its Fuel Efficient Municipal Fleet and Sparwood for its Leisure Centre Energy Retrofit

The press release and a summary of all applications can be downloaded below.

The awards are organized annually by the Community Energy Association in partnership with the Province of B.C., Union of BC Municipalities, BC Hydro and FortisBC.

Download “Applicant-Recognition-2014.pdf” Applicant-Recognition-2014.pdf – Downloaded 566 times – 469 KB

Download “MLA-Reimer-ClimateEnergy-Action-Awards-News-Release-Sept-19-2014.pdf” MLA-Reimer-ClimateEnergy-Action-Awards-News-Release-Sept-19-2014.pdf – Downloaded 470 times – 108 KB

Download “Summary-of-2014-Award-Applications.pdf” Summary-of-2014-Award-Applications.pdf – Downloaded 557 times – 240 KB